Home Page

Covingham Park Primary School

Caring for Pupils, Promoting Success

The CILIP Carnegie Medal

The CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Medals are the UK's oldest and most prestigious children's book awards. Often described by authors and illustrators as 'the one they want to win' - they are the gold standard in children's literature.


For older readers, The CILIP Carnegie Medal is awarded by children's librarians for an outstanding book written in English for children and young people.


These were the shortlisted books for 2016:


One by Sarah Crossan (WINNER 2016)

The Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge

There Will Be Lies by Nick Lake

The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

Five Children on the Western Front by Kate Saunders

The Ghosts of Heaven by Marcus Sedgwick

Lies We Tell Ourselves by Robin Talley


Please see for more details